Who We Are

The Governors & Guardians elect the Managing Committee of the Charitable Infirmary Charitable Trust annually and operates under the charter originally granted in 1792. We provide support for the sick and the needy of Dublin, for medical research, and for education and training.

Mr. Barry O'Brien - ChairProject Director and Consultant to various private International Investment Funds. Professionally qualified in a variety of disciplines, he is the former Chief Executive of the National Sports Campus Development Authority (2008-2013) which put the capital infrastructure in place for developing performance excellence within Irish sport. He is also the former Director of Estates at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland ( RCSI) during a period of rapid expansion and international development (1985-2006).
Mr. Bernard KearneyBernard Kearney has worked in the IT industry for over 40 years and is currently owner and Managing Director of one of Ireland’s leading computer companies, ICT Services. He has a strong affiliation with both Jervis Street and Beaumont Hospitals being a kidney transplant patient for 35 years. Bernard is a graduate from TU Dublin.
Ms. Sheila MaguireShiela MaguireA management graduate of the College of Commerce and the Irish Management Institute and a qualified mediator. Former General Manager of UCC Dental School and Hospital and former head of General Services, UCC. Held senior management positions in the following hospitals: St. Laurence’s, The Charitable Infirmary, Ibn Al Bitar (Baghdad), Beaumont, Mercy Cork and Mater Private Cork. Awarded honorary life membership of An tAontas of the UCC Students’ Union. Former Board Director of Crawford Art Gallery Cork and Chair of the Artistic Policy Sub-Committee. Former director of a Credit Union. Currently involved in mediation.
Ms. Ina NolanIna Nolan is a Science graduate from UCD who has worked as a hospital biochemist in Dublin and in Limerick. She is also a qualified environmental scientist. In recent years she has been managing the examination facilities for UCD.
Mr. Michael PattenMichael Patten
Mr. Justice larfhlaith O'Neill
Rev. Fr. Damian Canon O'ReillyFather Damian O’Reilly, a former curate of the Parish of St. Agnes in Crumlin and the Parish of St. Columba, was appointed as the first full-time Hospital Chaplain of the Mater Private Hospital. He was appointed Curate to St. Mary's Pro-Cathedral became Administrator of the Pro-Cathedral in 2009 at which time he joined the Management Committee and Finance Committee of the Charitable Infirmary Charitable Trust.
Mr. John PierceJohn spent more than forty years in IT and retired from Fujitsu’s global marketing group in 2017. He then joined the board of An Taicse, serving as chair from 2017-2019. He has a BSc in Botany and an MSc in Ecology from UCD and an MBA from the Open University. He is a chartered engineer and fellow of the Institution of Engineers in Ireland and a fellow of the Irish Computer Society. He has served on the board and as chair of a number of membership, charitable and commercial organisations.
Ms. Joan ReidyJoan Reidy is radiographer who worked in this capacity in The Charitable Infirmary, Jervis St and after the closure of the Hospital moved to Beaumont Hospital where she served as Deputy Radiography Services Manager until her retirement.
Mr. Eoin TierneyEoin Tierney is a science graduate of UCC and has worked in IT for many years.
Prof. Gerry McElvaney
Prof. Frank MurrayProfessor of Medicine
Gastroenterology / Hepatology
FACP(Hon) FRCP(Glas)(Hon) FFPHMI(Hon)
Mr. Harold Murray
Mr. Christopher Sheeran
Ms. Gillian Sheeran

Trust Secretary
Ms. Bridget Keane

There are currently five subcommittees:

FinanceRev. Fr. Damian Canon 0' Reilly (chair)
TrustMichael Patten (chair)
GovernanceMs. Sheila Maguire - (chair)
MedicalProfessor McElvaney (chair)
CommunicationsBarry O’Brien (chair)
Charity Strategy ReviewMs. Joan Reidy (chair)

Previous Chairpersons

Mr. Denis Mc Carthy1989 – 2010
Mr. Dan Mc Ging2010 - 2012 (September)
Mr. Paddy Culligan 2012 - 2015
Judge Donnchadh O’Buachalla2015 - 2017 (April)
Ms. Joan Reidy2017 -2017 (Deputy Chair April to December 2017)
Mr Michael Patten2017 - 2022